Skip to content
November 19, 2011 / makingitmamastyle

Crock Pot Applesauce Plus a Nashville Preview

Hello from Nashville!

First things first, I plan to camp out right here all day.

We’re at a cool restaurant/bar in downtown Nashville (by the way, this town never sleeps!) with the plan of watching college football all day.  Normally I’d be totally underwhelmed about this, but we have our own cozy little room complete with recliners, big screens, free wi-fi and maybe a Bloody Mary or two.  (Yours truly is sticking to Diet Coke, of course.)

Who knows what Steph is doing in that pic? She used to be a flag girl, so she gets really excited for college football on TV.  😉

To my extreme delight, I’m camping out in a puffy recliner with my laptop in my lap, blogging, pinning, stalking facebooking and napping.

We’re pretty wild and crazy!

Because we are so adventurous, I thought I’d share a little excitement with you, as well. This crock pot applesauce will rock your socks off! It is so easy. It’s magical, actually. The apples just turn into applesauce all on their own.

 Start with a variety of apples- you need 8 total. I used 2 each of Gala, Golden Delicious, McIntosh, and Granny Smith. Peel, core and slice them.

Throw them in a large crock pot with 1/2 tsp apple pie spice, one cinnamon stick, one strip of lemon rind (use your veggie grater– mine didn’t peel that smoothly, so I got 3 short strips), the juice of one lemon, and 4 tsp brown sugar.

Cook it on low for 6 hours, giving it a stir occasionally if you are home.

I’ve never had warm applesauce before, but this is the absolute coziest thing I’ve ever tasted. It will be on our Thanksgiving table for sure!! Ugh, I can’t get over it. It makes about 3 cups, which would be 12 1/4 cup servings.  I don’t know about you, but I could eat a cup all by myself, so plan accordingly for your family.  I’ll probably make two batches for Turkey Day.  If you have leftovers, this would freeze well.

Pin This Recipe!

What Do You Think?

