Skip to content
November 14, 2011 / makingitmamastyle

Thanksgiving Recipes

Thanksgiving is at our house this year and we’ll have a crowd of 16, but the cooking for me will be a breeze! My brother is taking care of the turkey and everyone else is bringing a side dish or dessert. That leaves me just taking care of the cranberry sauce and green bean casserole!

A few years back, I hosted the entire meal for both sides of the family. I try to have everything prepped the day ahead, so all that’s left on the holiday is the baking. Be sure to plan your cooking times so you have enough oven space. Use your crock pots and stove top! I think timing everything is the biggest challenge when hosting a big meal, but with some pre-planning, it’s a snap.

What are your Turkey Day plans?

Chances are, you may be looking for a few recipes, so here you go! Several of these are my own recipes and several link to other sites.  Enjoy!

The. Best. Turkey. EVER!  Yes, you can do it!!!  Easy peasy. I make mine the day before, then slice it and keep it covered in a 9×13 pan overnight. On Thanksgiving, I warm it up (add a few TBSP water and keep it covered) when it’s time to eat. It stays moist and has excellent flavor. (Tip: Be sure to spread the herbs UNDER the skin- yes, shove your hands under there and rub it all around. This keeps the flavor on when the skin comes off! Watch for a detailed how-to-cook-a-turkey post coming this weekend!)

 

Crock Pot Applesauce  I’ve said it before, this recipe is magical. The crock pot does all of the work for you!

 

Sweet Green Beans  Nope, not your typical green bean casserole, but totally to die for!

 

Mashed Potatoes  (Recipe from the Pioneer Woman. Enough said.)

 

Sweet Potato Casserole  Skinny style! Seriously, check out her site, it’s amazing.

 

Gratitude Rolls (Awesome for the kids!)

 

Cranberry Sauce  A must-have turkey topping. Sweet, sour, easy, awesome.

 

Cream Cheese Corn   This super simple side dish will be a hit on your table. Double or triple it as needed. Try preparing it the day before and then warming it in the oven before eating.

Macaroni and Cheese (SO, so great and it feeds a crowd!)

 

Raspberry Cream Pie (Very good, very pretty, but a bit seedy, naturally. Beware if you have texture issues!)

 

Cranberry Upside Down Cake  (ummmm I’m dying over this.)

 

Do you know how to make the world’s easiest pumpkin cake?

Take a spice cake mix and a 15 oz can of pumpkin, combine. Bake. That’s it!  Just bake according to the box directions, but don’t add any other ingredients. I like to ice it with whipped cream cheese frosting. So moist, delicious and healthy-ish!

Pumpkin and Apple Cider Fizz (This is bound to make the holiday a little less stressful!)

Now that you’re drooling like I am, I’ll leave you to go make your grocery list! I’m off to start laundry for my trip to Nashveeeeele later this week!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Lisa / Nov 14 2011 11:24 am

    What am I doing for Thanksgiving? Sitting all alone in my little house since I can’t travel and go to our family celebration lol! 🙂 Enjoy, looks yummy!

What Do You Think?

