Skip to content
November 12, 2011 / makingitmamastyle

Pinch His Nose While He Sleeps…

You’re gonna need to get this in your life now.

But before that, let’s talk about how awesome I am.  For realsies, this little incident adds a new level of awesomeness to my scale.

I work from home.  (That’s not what makes me cool.)  I work from home, which means I get to complete the responsibilities for both of my jobs on my own time.  Isn’t that great?  On my own time.

My own time! 

Are you laughing as hysterically as I am? Hold on, gotta get a kleenex.

Ok, where was I…

Oh yes, I was explaining that I work from home, on my own time.

Thankfully, I do have a babysitter two days per week for the kids (Hi, Stephanie!). During that time, I hit up local coffee shops to do my business.  (Oh, come on, not that kind of business, I can never do that in public… unless I’m at a bookstore. What is it with bookstores?!)

Yesterday was no different.  Work, work, work, tappety tap tap, chat with several other patrons, wish I could have coffee on an IV drip, remember that time last week that I belted out a chorus with my headphones on, pack up, go home.

Upon entering the front door, I passed by a mirror and it was at this moment, friends, my awesomeness increased by at least 170%.

My shirt. was. inside. out.

We’re talking big ol’ seams running down my arms, a monster tag sticking straight out under my pony tail, care instructions  flapping in the breeze at my side, the whole nine yards. I thought back to that morning and mentally replayed asking Andrew if he liked my shirt, doing the 360 turn so he could get the full effect. I clearly remember him responding, “Oh yah, looks great! Is it new?”

Hmph. As payback, I’ll be pinching his nose while he’s sleeping tonight to see him wake up in a flurry of confusion.  Isn’t that the best?  Makes me laugh for 10 minutes every time.

So, as I was saying, you need this in your life. Stat.

Spicy Peanut Soup

  • 2 teaspoons oil
  • 1 large onion, finely chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 2 red or green bell peppers, finely chopped
  • 1 cup finely chopped carrots
  • 1 cup chopped sweet potatoes
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery
  • 4 cups veggie stock
  • 6 TBSP peanut butter
  • 2/3 cup frozen corn
  • salt and pepper
  • roughly chopped peanuts (garnish)

Heat the oil and cook the onion and garlic 3 minutes. Add the chili powder and cook one minute. Add the peppers, carrots, potatoes and celery, stir well and cook 4 minutes. Add the stock, peanut butter and corn. Stir well. Season with S&P.  Bring to a boil, cover and simmer 20 minutes until all veggies are tender. Serve garnished with chopped peanuts.

Pin This Recipe!

 

 

Question of the Day:

What’s your most embarrassing moment?

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Susan / Nov 12 2011 7:51 pm

    Walking across the entire New Orleans Hard Rock Cafe restaurant with a large tail of TP hanging out the back Of my jeans. And that was B4 we had drinks!

What Do You Think?

