Skip to content
November 10, 2011 / makingitmamastyle

Just Stuff It

Ok, you asked for it. I described Andrew’s killer moves yesterday and here they are in real life….

(If you can’t see the video, click this link)

 The truth is, the second Andrew walks in the door I become chopped liver. I’m totally ok with that because it means the small people are attached to his leg instead of mine.  I spend my alone time doing pretty much anything that involves the bathroom– showering, putting on make up, using the facilities…. You know, the common decencies of life that become a laughable rarity upon entering motherhood.

It’s great because when Andrew comes home, I’m able to stop and gather myself for a second in the midst of the whirling chaos… and just for you, I cracked a cheerful, turtle-necked, cock-eyed smile. (WHY does one eye never open as much as the other in photos? Wait. Does this happen in real life, too and I just don’t know it?!)

Tonight was no different. Daddy walked in the door and the house became a toddler’s fairground. There were pony rides, airplane rides, dance parties, soccer games and stories.

After taking advantage of the aforementioned decencies of life, I took advantage of the other parent in the house and ran on the treadmill. I’m fast as lightning, yo!

And so, all of that fun brought us to dinner: Stuffed Eggplant.

(Find the full recipe HERE)

I loooove a good food bowl. Bread bowls, squash bowls, eggplant bowls… you get it.

Start with an eggplant, slice it in half and then score it to remove the flesh with a spoon.

Pop the skins in the 350 degree oven for 15 minutes while you prep the filling.

Cut the eggplant flesh into smaller, bite-sized pieces. Chop the onion and celery and put them in a skillet to saute for a few minutes. Once softened (3-4 minutes), add the garlic and eggplant flesh, cover and cook for 10 minutes.

Add the beans, give it a stir and get the eggplant out of the oven. Stuff the halves with the filling, top each with cheese and bread crumbs, bake again for 10 minutes. Crank the oven up to 425 and bake for an additional 10 minutes.

When it’s hot and crispy, dig in!  (find the full recipe here)

Question of the Day:

What’s one item on your bucket list?

One of my items is to become a great photographer. Adding photos to the blog makes me realize how much I’d actually like to know what I’m doing!

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Heather / Nov 10 2011 11:12 pm

    The eye thing happens to me, too. Every. Time.

  2. Heather / Nov 11 2011 7:43 am

    This is AWEsome. In the most poignant use of the word awesome. She will cherish this video forever! You guys are such good parents! Copy this video onto at least 7 different mediums and put each in a different hiding place so that you know you’ll always have it to cherish that moment!

    • Heather / Nov 11 2011 7:45 am

      Just realized I responded to the same post twice! In very different ways. But I didn’t watch the video until this morning…. Hope that makes me seem less MPD.

      • makingitmamastyle / Nov 11 2011 2:03 pm

        LOL creeeeeepy!! 😉 (and what does MPD mean??)

  3. Lisa / Nov 11 2011 9:36 am

    Great singing and guitar moves there, Livy! And yeah, showers, what are those? Am I crazy for adding a second to my family to take away from those precious quiet moments lol! Bucket list? I’d also love to take better photos but that requires a much better camera than I have, and, well I don’t see that happening any time soon. As well as the right programs to edit them in.

  4. Mom / Nov 11 2011 2:27 pm

    Adorable video! Maybe a karaoke machine should come to your house for Christmas? Let me know!!! A bucket list item? Hummm….good question!

  5. Kate Gengler / Dec 24 2011 2:20 pm

    Mrs Clifton- I find your recipes enticing and I think you’re an excellent photographer. My bucket list is extensive, from hot air ballooning to getting better at the guitar and piano (of course piano is solely so if I’m ever at the piano bar and the pianist breaks his hand I can slide in and take over to play our Give Me My Money Back song). But anyhow. I’m making that eggplant this week. Au Revoir

What Do You Think?

