Skip to content
November 8, 2011 / makingitmamastyle

B,L,D and a Workout

Before I get to tonight’s dinner and recipe, I’ll recap the day. You may remember I’m on a mission to shed a few LBs and today, being the first day after my motivating experience, went very well!

Breakfast: Pumpkin Steel Cut Oats

Mix half a can of pumpkin, a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice, extra cinnamon, 2 TBSP brown sugar and a dash of vanilla into your steel-cut oats as they cook according to package directions. (By the way, the directions usually suggest 4 cups water to one cup oats, but I always cut that back to 3 cups of water.) Once cooked, I topped my serving with a splash of milk and they kept me full all morning. I put the leftovers in mason jars where they’re ready for two more breakfasts this week!

Why the steel-cut oats? They’re less processed than rolled/old fashioned oats and certainly less than quick oats. They provide a nutty flavor and are dense and chewy when cooked, which I enjoy. Being less processed, they take longer for your body to digest, meaning I feel fuller longer. All in all, steel-cut oats are a win-win.

 Lunch: Thanksgiving Paninis

Turkey, fontina cheese and cranberry sauce layered on whole grain wheat bread and pressed to perfection on the panini grill.  A few chips with added flax seed and homemade salsa on the side and the lunch prep took 10 minutes from start to stomach.

Alright, now we are at dinner.

Dinner:  17 Bean Soup

Yep, seventeen bean soup.

I purchased the blend of beans from Trader Joes and they worked perfectly to provide a range of textures in the soup.

After rinsing and sorting the beans, I chopped an onion, a few carrots and celery.

Let the veggies sauté for a bit, add in a can of whole tomatoes that you chopped (more flavor this way!), throw in the beans, bay leaves, and chicken broth.

Simmer, simmer, simmer for about an hour, add in a cup of elbow macaroni and cook another 10 minutes. Toss in the chopped parsley, stir, and devour!  (oh, and find the recipe HERE! I followed it pretty loosely and you can, too!)

I ran on the treadmill again today.

  • 35 minutes
  • 2.5 miles
  • 345 calories

Question of the day:

What’s your favorite pumpkin dish?

I am really digging the pumpkin oatmeal at the moment, but have an undying love for pumpkin pie. I usually have one slice per year (at Thanksgiving) and it is sooooo worth the wait!

What Do You Think?

