Skip to content
November 7, 2011 / makingitmamastyle

Been There. Done That. Got the T-Shirt.

I’m going to start doing something a little extra here on the ol’ blog.

I have a goal to lose 10 pounds. I swear, it’s just enough to need to lose, but not enough to be uber motivated about. Does that make sense? I mean, I could live with the extra 10 pounds, but I’d never have anything to wear!  (By the way, it’s really not a good idea to shop with the “Oh, this will fit in a few weeks” mindset.  Been there, done that, got the t-shirt– and it doesn’t fit. )

So, for now, I’m going to be writing additional posts about what I eat, how I exercise, and how all those pounds are flying off my hips. That’s how it works, right? 

Heh.

Why the sudden motivation, you ask? 

Old Navy.  I completely and utterly blame (and thank, I suppose) Old Navy.  I mean, have you seen the mom jeans they sell?!  Good grief, they disguise these front-paneled pants with the seemingly harmless moniker “Sweetheart Jeans”. So, your choice is the cute and trendy “Rock Star Jeans” (read: super cute, super-low rise, welcome to Muffin Top City) or the softly named “Sweetheart Jeans” (read: waistline 2 inches from your boobs and front-paneled, stuffing in every lump and curve to avoid a visit to Muffin Top City).

So, that places me smack dab in between a rock star and a sweetheart. ….leaning strongly toward sweetheart.

You know what I decided? I don’t want to be there.

Do you know how terrible jeans look when the waist could double as a push-up bra and the pockets on the back are spread too far apart, pointed diagonally and placed too high?  I think the point of the diagonal pockets is to make butts look perky, but let’s be real, it just creates a serious long-butt phenomenon. When your pockets start two inches above your butt, they end two inches above the curve of said butt, leaving two MORE inches of actual buttage! High-pocket induced long-butt syndrome must be stopped. There is no perkyness going on here:

mom jeans: jeans with a high waist and diagonal back pockets, placed too high and too far apart.

 and besides, my butt is the least of my perky problems these days.

(Insert Cameron Diaz: “22, 28, 22, 28….”  Anybody get me on that?)

Disgruntled and forlorn, I came straight home from that devastating shopping experience. The time has come to stop blaming my kids for my body. I hopped on the treadmill and here’s the summary:

  • 40 minutes
  • 360 calories
  • 2.7 miles

Lunch was this:

Hey, look at that– I’m an hour into my new lifestyle and so far, I’m 100% successful.  I rock!!!!

Alright, provide your best words of encouragement in the comments. I’m gonna need them.

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lisa / Nov 7 2011 8:37 pm

    You can do it!!

  2. Bevin / Nov 7 2011 8:44 pm

    Good for you getting motivated! But also, screw the ladies section of jeans, everywhere they are ridiculous. The last like five pairs of khakis and jeans I have bought I bought in the mens section. They sit at a reasonable height (read: not in muffin town, not in corset city), and usually you can find just a nice straight from the hip cut. Plus they sell them by the waist and length measurement instead of stupid numbers that mean nothing. The jeans I wore to your house the other day were man pants :). So get yourself all fit (Im super jealous of your motivation), but also I strongly believe a large part of the problem is the way ladies pants are cut…. 🙂

    • steph / Nov 7 2011 8:55 pm

      Genius, I must try that!! And rock on Micah!!

    • makingitmamastyle / Nov 10 2011 3:25 pm

      Really???? I’m intrigued… I can’t remember what you were wearing at my house, but I obviously didn’t shout out “Are those MAN PANTS??” so you must be on to something. I like the avoidance of arbitrary numbers the W/L measurements would provide.

  3. steph / Nov 7 2011 8:54 pm

    Its like you read my mind. 🙂 I actually signed up for the gym at work today. Its not coming off before Nashville, but maybe before Xmas I’ll lose some of the weight! 🙂

  4. Carrie Ellman / Nov 7 2011 9:33 pm

    Way to go! Need a little inspiration over here too. I actually have a pair of the sweetheart jeans and when I bought them…possibly 4 years ago I was just glad that the length fit. I tried to return to them about 2 years ago and realized how horrible they were. How did I not notice before? I think I remember coming home from buying them and saying to Chris, well they’re not awesome, but they work. Guess that’s how most of my wardrobe is. I’ve never claimed fashion as my forte. I noticed recently that they were still on the ON shelves and was in shock too. Good luck with your resolution!

    • makingitmamastyle / Nov 10 2011 3:23 pm

      I hear ya. Sometimes you just gotta go with what works…. I’m rocking sweetheart jeans right now, actually! 🙂

  5. Mom / Nov 8 2011 9:04 am

    That salad looks awesome! Can’t go wrong with food lookin’ like that!!

What Do You Think?

