Skip to content
November 5, 2011 / makingitmamastyle

I Made My Own Laundry Detergent

I did it.

I made my own laundry detergent the other day, thanks to Pinterest.

I know, it was a strange, risky venture.

Would it smell good?  Would it irritate the heck out of our skin?  Would it work?

With this recipe as my guide, I grabbed the ingredients at the store, where they all live conveniently next to each other on the laundry aisle.

  • 4lb Borax
  • 4lb Baking Soda
  • 4lb Washing Soda
  • 3 bars Fels-Naptha
  • 1 container Oxy Clean (You could use two, you could use none.)

Using a bucket I already had at home, I got busy shredding that soap.

Grind, grind, grind on the box grater. Yowza, that was hard.  In the future, I’ll use the food processor and save the workout for another time. Andrew thought this seemed unsanitary until I reminded him it’s soap!

Dump in the Borax, baking soda, washing soda, soap curls and Oxy Clean, give it a stir, and wah-lah!

Laundry detergent!

So far, so good on this dude’s skin:

He’s so very sensitive that a bit of persistent exzema here and there is normal, but there have been no severe breakouts from the soap.

I spent about $8 on the ingredients and since it takes 1 tablespoon per load, I foresee it lasting, oh, forever?!

Have you ever made laundry detergent?

What Do You Think?

