Skip to content
November 3, 2011 / makingitmamastyle

Freezin’ it.

I’m talking about something life-changing, money-saving, and yes, even healthy today.

Do you stock your freezer?  I’ve done the once-a-month cooking thing and I like it, but at the same time, I like to cook too much to make it truly work for me. I know I’m weird, but to me, cooking is actually a stress-reliever.  Andrew often finds me cooking late at night, after the kids go to bed. It’s his cue that I’ve had a long day and then he helps me with the dishes.  🙂

This type of freezer cooking, however, totally works for me. During those times when I want to cook, but it’s not exactly meal time, I create something along the lines of a breakfast or lunch for the freezer.

Enter: burritos.

You can use anything you have in your fridge or pantry.

For these lunch burritos, I used a can of black beans, fat free refried beans, salsa, cheese, cilatro and rice (cooked with a chopped onion and can of tomatoes).

Side note: You can also make breakfast burritos, as I did. If you can read my recipe below, I used eggs, black beans, salsa, green onions and cherry tomatoes. (and yes, that’s the car.)

Using your chosen ingredients, fill your burrito. Fold in the sides first, then the bottom and roll, like so:

I wrapped each one in seran wrap and then stuck them all in a freezer bag. When we need a quick breakfast, lunch or dinner, we grab one out of the freezer, unwrap it and wrap in a paper towel, microwave on 50% power for 2 minutes and then full power for 1 minute. (Your microwave may vary.)

Delicious breakfast in a flash, perfect for those busy mornings when you wish you had time for this:

What Do You Think?

