Skip to content
October 26, 2011 / makingitmamastyle

Chi-Chi-Chi-Chia!

Inspired, yet again, by my sister-in-law, I tried my hand at pumpkin muffins (nuggets of gold, I tell you!).

The original idea came from this recipe, but being that I can’t leave good-enough alone, I had to make a few changes.

To make 36 muffins (freezer-friendly, grab-and-go breakfast idea!):

Preheat oven to 350 and gather your ingredients.

  • 3 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp vanilla (I used the real stuff said sis-in-law brought me back from Mexico. Sweet consolation prize for not getting to actually go to Mexico!)
  • 1 can pumpkin
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 1/2 cup applesauce (If you don’t have any, just use 1 cup of oil instead.)
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 tsp chia seeds (Optional- this was my first experience with Chia seeds– read more below!)
  • 1 cup dried cranberries, nuts or chocolate chips (Optional)

Mix the dry ingredients and then add everything else.

The original recipe called for nuts, which I despise. I thought about throwing in chocolate chips, but being that my goal was to “healthy this up” a bit, I opted for cranberries. Most dried cranberries will have added sugar. I was ok with that for these muffins because I significantly cut back on the amount of sugar originally called for in the recipe.

Don’t laugh at my mixer.

 Fill your muffin cups 1/2-2/3 full and bake these delicious gems for 20 minutes. You know I added chia seeds to these muffins (chi-chi-chi- chia!) and I get the feeling they altered the baking time a bit. If you choose to leave the seeds out, you might need to bake everything a few minutes longer.  Maybe I’m crazy on that, I’ll have to try another batch to test my theory.

Enjoy!

Oh, and while on the topic of chia seeds, you cannot taste them at all!  You wouldn’t even know they were there. I was rather skiddish this time, worried the muffins might provide an unwelcome crunch if I added too many seeds, but next time I’ll add more!

Do you know the benefits of antioxidant, omega-3, and fiber-rich chia seeds? The list is nearly endless, but for starters, chia seeds help stablize blood sugar, aid concentration, boost energy now and store energy for later, keep you feeling full, lower blood pressure and increase heart health, boost digestive health with their soluble and insoluble fiber, build strong bones and maintain healthy skin, nails and hair.

Give them a try!  You can’t taste them, I promise.  In fact, chia seeds actually take on the flavor of whatever they are put in, so often the taste of your food is even better!

Anybody want to learn more about chia or more ways to use the seeds?  Let me know and I’ll put together a few more posts on the little wonder seed.

(Random fact: One tablespoon of chia seeds is believed to have sustained Aztec warriors for 24 hours!)

Don’t forget that you can help baby Adam!

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Shannon Grantham / Oct 26 2011 11:33 am

    Sounds delish. My only question on the seeds is how long does it take before you grow your winter coat? http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=chia+pet&view=detail&id=2A6FDAE7BEF548DA09FE1F8EDE064890B66D4CE7&first=0&FORM=IDFRIR

    • makingitmamastyle / Oct 26 2011 11:35 am

      I don’t know yet! Yesterday was my first experience with chia seeds, but I’ll let you know…. 😉

    • steph / Oct 27 2011 12:19 am

      Thats funny Shannon!! 🙂 I am intrigued by the seeds…..tell us more!! And said sis in law needs to make another ‘run for the border’ for more vanilla (and that is not taco bell).

  2. steph / Nov 22 2011 4:24 pm

    Hooray! I’m so glad you kept this and documeted it! So organized!! I needed a fix from the gold nuggets, what better way to kick off Thanksgiving weekend??!!

What Do You Think?

