Skip to content
October 23, 2011 / makingitmamastyle

Pumpkin Pancakes

Between work and school, we are all usually up and out the door pretty early each day.  The goal is 7am. Lofty, but doable– if I remember correctly, I think we succeeded once last month.

The kids and I have Fridays off, so we move a bit slowly through the morning and always kick off our weekend with pancakes. This time of year, it’s gotta be pumpkin pancakes. I make them from scratch about as often as I use a mix and I’m ok with that. It’s the fun tradition that matters to me, not the process it takes to get there.

This past Friday, I used a store-bought pancake mix and added in half a can of pumpkin, some cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice and extra milk.

The kids devoured them, as always.

Do you use real maple syrup? 

This is the first time I’ve purchased it and it’s well-worth the added cost. Being able to pronounce all of the ingredients in a food item is pretty important to me. It kind of makes you wonder, when seeing something with 10 trillion outrageous words in the ingredient list, if it’s actually food at all?  If your grandma doesn’t know what it is and you can’t make it in your own kitchen, it doesn’t deserve the title of “food.”

My goal is to only feed my children food. We certainly do not always succeed and I’m not completely committed to the rule, but if I can help it (and I usually can), I steer clear of the mystery stuff the majority of the time.

Back to pancakes.  You do use a pizza cutter to make bites for your littles, right?

I forced the kids to give me a few cheesy smiles and call it a great morning.

The best part about Pancake Friday is that I make enough to freeze for another time (Thanks for the idea, Steph!). Take the pancakes straight from freezer to toaster and you have a warm breakfast in a flash.  I’ll warn you, though, too many pumpkin pancakes may send your child into a syrupy state of fatigued bliss. He’s so much like his father:

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jerry Meyer / Oct 23 2011 2:51 pm

    Wow! Cheerios too!

    I love it, but the real maple syrup is a bit over the top pricewise, no?

  2. Shannon Grantham / Oct 23 2011 2:57 pm

    Bahaha love the last pic of Ryan. So glad you’re back to blogging on here! (Glad you are doing your Quest blog too, but I also love to hear about the fun and creative stuff you’re always doing all the time, which usually includes snipits of “How Micah sees the World” which I also very much enjoy.)

What Do You Think?

