Skip to content
January 7, 2011 / makingitmamastyle

2011 Resolutions

I’m not really the resolution type, but this year I do have a few “to dos” I’d like to accomplish.

First, I’m participating in an 8 week healthy living challenge.  I’m hoping to get back to not just my pre-baby weight, because I’m almost there, but also to pre-baby shape!  This isn’t simply a weight loss challenge, however.  It also involves developing and maintaining a healthy lifestyle.

Here are the weekly challenges:

(Each week’s challenge continues on for the remainder of the 8 weeks, so an additional challenge component comes into play each Friday.)

Week 1: Keep a food journal

Week 2: Continue journaling.  Cut out all sugar, junk food, soda pop, and fast food.

Week 3: Along with the challenges from weeks 1 & 2, eat 2 servings of fruit and 3 servings of vegetables per day.

Week 4: Continue weeks 1-3, plus exercise 30 minutes per day, 4 days per week.

Week 5: Weeks 1-4 plus drink at least 64 ounces of water each day.

Week 6: Weeks 1-5 plus take a daily vitamin (for me this is a prenatal vitamin).

Week 7: Weeks 1-6 plus start each day with “quiet time”.

Week 8: Weeks 1-7 plus get at least 7 hours of sleep every night.

Along with the healthy living challenge, I want to read more books!  I’m following a reading plan I found on another blog— it’s like a “virtual book club”.  Here is the list and dates I’ll be finished with each one:

February 10 The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin
March 10 Mansfield Park by Jane Austen
April 10 Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day by Jeff Herzberg and Zoe Francois
May 10 Finding Your Purpose as a Mom by Donna Otto
June 10 The Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan
July 10 Dancing with My Father by Sally Clarkson                                                                                                                                      August 10 The Help by Kathryn Stockett
September 10 Organized Simplicity by Tsh Oxenreider
October 10 Not Your Mother’s Casseroles by Faith Durand
November 10 The Reluctant Entertainer by Sandy Coughlin
December 10 The Monster in the Hollows by Andrew Peterson

These should keep me busy!

What Do You Think?

