Skip to content
December 15, 2010 / makingitmamastyle

Pizza Rolls

Sometimes you just want a pizza roll. If you’re me, you want a pizza roll that’s made from actual food, as opposed to the frozen, store bought variety.  Don’t get me wrong, I think convenience has its place, but I like to try to avoid it when possible.

I set to work.  I just used ingredients I had on hand, so the filling could have been better, but they were still great.

I used shredded chicken, homemade pizza dough, and homemade red sauce, all from my freezer. I had spinach and mozzarella cheese on hand, as well.

To start, thaw and drain the spinach. You want it very well drained, so squeeze it in paper towels several times to get all of the water out.

Next, spoon some red sauce onto a stack of paper towels. The sauce will have extra water, as well, so it needs to drain a bit to avoid soggy pizza rolls.  Not a great picture, but at least you have a visual:

I channeled my inner pizza maker when it came to the dough. I spun it (well, turned it), knuckled it (whatever that means), and tossed it (kind of).

I worked it in the air until it was perfectly thin and stretched and then laid it out on the counter.

Ahem. Do you see it? The hole. There’s a hole in my perfectly worked dough.

Don’t cry.

Spread the dough into an even rectangle and cut squares as big as you like.  Mine were about 2″ x 2″, but next time I’ll make them bigger.

Spoon a bit of filling- chicken, spinach, cheese, and sauce onto half of the squares. Brush the edges with water and top with another square.  Use a fork to seal the edges.

Preheat the oven to 400 and bake about 15 minutes, but watch closely.

Enjoy!

If you have leftovers, I’m sure these would freeze well!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. mom / Dec 15 2010 12:11 pm

    Looks really good. bringing it christmas eve?

What Do You Think?

