Skip to content
August 11, 2010 / makingitmamastyle

A Conglomeration of Happiness

This summer has been a little bittersweet for me.  While I cannot wait to meet baby boy (due Sept 9), a part of me is sad to know this time with just Livy is about to end.  I know the future is even brighter than I can imagine, but I will miss our days of painting fingernails, fixing lunch and playing house all the time.

She’s off to preschool here in a couple weeks.  I wouldn’t normally send her this young, but my job is allowing me to work 100% from home after the baby comes, so I need some time “alone” to get my stuff done.  Baby will still be with me, of course, but I’m hoping he proves to be the same sleepy head that Livy was…  wishful thinking??

Here’s some of the fun we’ve been having lately:

Livy and Uncle Adam worked to create a homemade BBQ sauce. He let her pick out all of the spices but drew the line at adding sprinkles.  Being the softy that he is, he later admitted feeling badly for not letting her put sprinkles in the barbecue sauce because “it wouldn’t have really tasted like anything, anyway”.  🙂

 

Soon after that, Livy helped me make nachos for dinner.  These are so good and so easy!

Layer:

  • Tortilla chips (not too many, they could get soggy– have extras on the table for scooping)
  • Browned beef (with taco seasoning if you want)
  • 1/2 cup taco sauce
  • corn (ours was cut fresh from the cob)
  • red onion
  • tomatoes
  • cheese

Put in a 425 degree oven for about 10-12 minutes, until cheese is melted.

We’ve recently tried this with a can of chili with beans to replace the browned burger and it was a great time saver.  The beef (or turkey) is healthier because you can drain it, but if you’re in a hurry, try the chili!

A few days later, Kobber (my nephew, Kaleb) spent the night!  This was a bit confusing for Livy because Kobber is Izzie’s “baby brother”, so she assumes that her soon-to-arrive baby brother must be Kobber, as well. When he spent the night, he slept in the baby’s crib, which further solidified in Livy’s mind that baby brother had arrived!  She had so much fun following him around, keeping him out of trouble and “teaching him to share” by handing him a toy, letting him hold it for 2 seconds, then taking it right back and saying “my turn, we have to share, Kobber!”. After he left, she felt this whole “baby brother” thing was said and done- fun while it lasted, time to get back to real life!  She’s slowly catching on that there is, in fact, a baby brother just for her coming in a few weeks!

What Do You Think?