Skip to content
June 4, 2010 / makingitmamastyle

Well, I Tried…

Veggie Enchiladas

Last night’s dinner was… ok.  Actually, it was pretty good, but if my family isn’t completely oohing and aahing over a meal, I don’t consider it a success.  In Andrew’s opinion, “these would be better with some chicken”.  That’s a man for ya… just can’t appreciate the beauty of meatless.  

You’re probably wondering why I would post a recipe that wasn’t awesome, but my reasoning is that this is a good base and I’ll make improvements next time. I want to make it again, so it needs to be filed here!

I basically made this recipe up, basing it on the usual ingredients found in enchiladas. With a little help here and there from other recipes, I concocted my own version.

  • 8 flour tortillas
  • 10 oz box frozen spinach, thawed and well-drained
  • 1 cup low-fat cottage cheese, well- drained
  • 1/2 cup low-fat sour cream
  • 15 oz can enchilada sauce
  • garlic
  • cheese
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 15 oz can Rotel (next time, I’ll leave out the Rotel)

 

Preheat oven to 375.

Be sure to drain the cottage cheese really well (you could use Ricotta if you want, but cottage cheese is a bit healthier).  I went so far as to push it through a strainer with the back of a spoon.

In a bowl, combine the drained spinach, cottage cheese and sour cream.  In a skillet, saute the onions and garlic until tender.  Dump in the spinach mixture to heat it through. (If you love cheese, add some to the mixture.  I figure I can’t taste it in there, so why add it?  I just used it on top, but do as you wish!)

Warm the tortillas in the microwave to make them pliable.  Fill each with about 1/3 cup of the spinach mixture.  Roll up and place seam side down in your greased dish. 

Top with enchilada sauce and shredded cheese.

Bake about 20 minutes, until bubbly.  Top with salsa or fresh tomatoes.

Note:  This is my revised version, the way I’ll make this next time.  The first time, I put enchilada sauce in the mixture and also used the Rotel.  If I’m feeling particularly nice, I may even throw some chicken in next time.  I like to buy those rotisserie chickens from the store when they are on sale and that would be an easy way to make this more “husband-friendly”!

Speaking of the rotisserie chickens from the store, check out this salad I had for lunch:

In the mix:

  • Rotisserie Chicken
  • Mixed Baby Greens
  • Cubed Cheese
  • Roasted Asparagus
  • Tomatoes
  • Low-Fat Sesame Ginger Dressing (delish)

For good measure, here’s a picture of Livy eating… something…

I do love teaching her how to cook and enjoy healthy meals!  Our teamwork at mealtime makes me a bit stressed at times, but it’s all for such a great cause. 🙂

What Do You Think?

