Skip to content
May 12, 2010 / makingitmamastyle

and I love you bery much.

Those unexpected, tender moments of being a mama are so heart-stopping to me. They fill my heart with so much love and joy that I feel like it’s gonna burst.  It’s almost painful!  Tonight was one of those moments:

Andrew has to work late and is expecting to get home around 10pm, so Livy and I had the day and evening all to ourselves.  After a dinner of sloppy joes, mac and cheese, and corn, we set to work on a new cookie recipe. I’ll let you know tomorrow if it’s good! The dough has to chill overnight, so we’ll be baking them in the morning.

After the dough was made, we sat down at the computer.  If you are a mom of a child in the “early reading” stage, I highly suggest visiting www.starfall.com! Livy played games on here for 45 minutes.  She practiced letters, phonics, matching, and beginning words– I had to promise we’d play again tomorrow to get her to stop playing tonight!

Alas, it was time for bed. She sleeps in a full bed now (she’s so tiny in it), so there’s room for me to lay down beside her for a few minutes as we say prayers and talk about what we’ll do the next day.  This was when she stopped my heart.

We were chatting as she was playing with my hair and patting my arm (such a little mama) and she said

“Hey Mom, you proud of me?  You think I’m beautiful?”

aaaahhh yes, the phrases I repeat to her a million times a day.  Clearly, she’s listening!  I confirmed that I am incredibly proud of her and she’s the most beautiful girl in the world and she said,

“Yah, Mom, and I love you bery much”.

This girl steals my heart all over again every day.

What Do You Think?

