Skip to content
May 10, 2010 / makingitmamastyle

Potato Salad

Potato salad is not something I ever thought I’d make.  I love it, but truth be told, I really love the mustard potato salad from the deli section of HyVee…  I gave this recipe a shot, however and it was delish!  Next time, I’ll add mustard, though.

Potato Salad

French Dressing:

  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 TBSP vingar
  • 2 TBSP lemon juice
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 3/4 tsp dry mustard
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp paprika
  • Dash cayenne

Combine all in a jar, shake well.

Potato Salad:

  • 1/4 cup French dressing (I used all of it)
  • 4-5 medium potatoes, cooked, peeled and cubed (4 cups)
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 4 hard boiled eggs (I will use 6 next time, but we like the eggs)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup mayo

Pour dressing over warm potatoes. Chill 2 hours. Add celery, onion, eggs, and salt. Add mayo and mix carefully. Add 1 tsp celery seed, if desired. Chill 4 hours. Makes 8 servings.

I found an easier way to peel potatoes:

After washing, score them around the middle. Drop them, unpeeled, into the boiling water and cook until tender. Drain, peel.  You can slide the skin off with your hands instead of all that knife work!

What Do You Think?

