Skip to content
April 28, 2010 / makingitmamastyle

Happy Mother’s Day to ME!

Andrew gave me my Mother’s Day gift early last night (which really means I told him what I wanted, decided I couldn’t wait 2 more weeks, so begged him to let me go buy it right then).  🙂   The gift was……

A panini press/grill/griddle!  This baby does it all!  How exciting, right?!

I was scheduled to volunteer in the 2 year old room during my MOPS group meeting today, so I knew I’d need a hearty breakfast to get me through those three hours!  The panini press came at the perfect time:

Breakfast Panini  (Makes 2 sandwiches)

 

  • 4 slices bread (any kind- French bread, hamburger buns, sandwich bread…)
  • 3 slices turkey bacon, cooked crispy
  • 3 eggs, scrambled
  • 2 slices cheese (I used American sandwich slices)
  • 1/2 avocado, thinly sliced
  • Miracle Whip + Dijon Mustard

Preheat the panini maker.  Scramble the eggs and cook the bacon. Slice the avocado and mix the Miracle Whip + Dijon Mustard. Brush outsides of all bread with a tiny bit of olive oil. Brush the Whip + Dijon on all four slices, top two slices with cheese, eggs, bacon, and avocado.  Put the remaining slices on top to form a sandwich and grill for a couple minutes, until golden and oh so crispy.

MMMMmmmm  

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This was so delicious!!  I used the grill again for lunch (it’s my new favorite thing!), I spread some miracle whip on a hamburger bun, topped with deli turkey and a slice of swiss, topped with the other side of the bun and panini-pressed away.  This works great since any lunch meat I eat is supposed to be heated to steaming (preggo with a BOY!!).  Plus, the sandwiches get flat enough for Livy to get her little mouth around.

What Do You Think?

